Elena (2011), directed by Andrey Zvyagintsev ★★★★

Andrey Zvyagintsev’s third film, I’ve also seen his first and latest; The Return (2003) and Leviathan (2014). From the three I’ve seen, I have to hand it to his sticking with Mikhail Krichman’s cinematography.

From the opening shot of Elena. Every now and then I get a damaged dvd that starts freezing, and I had to glance down at the counter to see that the scene was playing normally – until I sensed the light getting brighter, then some movement in the foreground, on a branch, to the right. Then you see the reflection on the glass and you know something you didn’t when the film started.

I would be surprised if Zvyagintsev wasn’t influenced by [spoiler] Chantal Akerman’s Jeanne Dielman, 23 quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles.  [/ spoiler]

2 thoughts on “Elena (2011), directed by Andrey Zvyagintsev ★★★★

    1. 8xqtw3 Post author

      I was also going to mention that now I’ve got to see his second film, The Banishment (2007). I may have to buy the dvd as my library and net flix dvd don’t have it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

