Boyhood (2014)

Currently my #1 film for 2014, though I have not seen Clint Eastwood’s American Sniper, The Dardenne brothers’ Two Days, One Night, or Paul Thomas Anderson’s Inherent Vice – which started in our town yesterday. ..

I actually started in on Linklater’s filmography in anticipation of watching Boyhood. I had seen his Dazed and Confused (1993), and then recently watched his before trilogy (out of order) – Before Midnight (2013), Before Sunrise (1995), then Before Sunset (2004). Next up was Slaker (1991) and Bernie (2011). I was hooked with Midnight and his walk-and-talk dolly signature shot. You see variations of this in Boyhood.

While I had the chance to see this in a theater, his films were still a mystery to me. Though I have actually found a positive for the upcoming awards season: I could possibly watch Boyhood on the big screen! I won’t miss my chance this time. When I got the brand new, never used with no scratches shiny mirror dvd from Netflix, I watched it twice before I mailed it back.

Patricia Arquette steals this one.

I like how he depicts the echos in life, which we may or may not notice and chalk up to deja vu. An example:

The scene near the beginning of Mason laying with hands behind head eyes rolled up listening to his mom and boyfriend argue, with the concentration that only a child could have in trying to interpret what is going on, and later when she divorces, and remarries her professor, his brother (in law) sits in the same position while all 4 listen to both parents fight it out in another room.

I rarely rate a film 5 out of 5 stars, but Boyhood rounds up. My other 5 star films from recent memory:

The Scent of Green Papaya (1993)
Tokyo Twilight (1957)
Late Autumn (1963)
Late Spring (1949)
The River (1951)

Linklater has already said that Criterion Collection will give their treatment to this – I know my next Criterion purchase. Though Slacker is right up there as it includes his first film It’s Impossible to Learn to Plow by Reading Books (1988).

Leave a Reply

